PDA

View Full Version : touring bike racks

yeehawfactor
02-14-2006, 11:24 PM
friend is building up his cIII touring bike. what pannier systems should he be checking out? also, how about rad fenders? thanks!

wanderingwheel
02-15-2006, 01:24 AM
I've got Jandd bags and racks on my touring bike and couldn't be happier. The Nitto racks that Rivendell sells are also very nice, as are Bruce Gordon's. I especially like the way that Bruce's racks are tilted inward at the top. I've heard good things about Tubus and Old Man Mountain also, but I have no experience with them. On the front rack, I prefer mid-mount racks so that I have a platform on top if needed and I don't scrape my bags in turns, but I still have good handling similar to low-riders.

I prefer top-loading panniers, but if I was to buy new bags today I would look very hard at Bruce's new line, far and away the best panel-loading panniers I've seen. I have had problems with spring-mounted panniers. Even though they are faster to put on and take off, I prefer a more secure and robust connection. Also be warry of oversized panniers; they just encourage overpacking and ruin the handling of a properly loaded touring bike. After a week or two of experience, those large panniers will be mostly empty. I've never felt a need for waterproof panniers, either.

billrick
02-15-2006, 04:39 AM
Arkel panniers. Love mine.

yeehawfactor
02-15-2006, 10:45 AM
thanks, word has been passed along

Serotta_Andrew
02-15-2006, 10:55 AM
Arkel panniers. Love mine.

Arkel panniers are fabulous!!!!!

jerk
02-15-2006, 11:01 AM
Arkel panniers are fabulous!!!!!

listen to this man. he knows touring better than the jerk knows being a jerk!

jerk

PeterW
02-15-2006, 11:22 AM
Arkel panniers are fabulous. The company is fabulous. The quality is fabulous.