PDA

View Full Version : Get a new helmet - with photos

TexasJohn
04-16-2014, 10:26 PM
Just joined my first MS150 ride from Houston to Austin. Completed the first day - 100 miles - no problem. Good thing a bought a new helmet before the trip because I crashed on mile 5 on day two! I accidentally crossed the rear wheel of my riding partner and went straight down going about 25 mph! I landed straight on my head and side, cracked the helmet in about 12 places and broke three ribs!! *Absolutely no head injuries whatsoever; the helmet completely absorbed the impact* Who knows what would have happened if I was wearing the old helmet (5+ years old) or none at all! I've been riding for over 8 years now, and I'm now an even bigger proponent of riding with helmet and making sure it's a newer model. So, trust me...get a new helmet.

wooly
04-17-2014, 01:43 AM
I'm glad your okay. I've crached at 25+ mph and it took me months to recover.

vqdriver
04-17-2014, 02:30 AM
3 ribs, ouch. Glad you're ok. Get better

Which helmet?

witcombusa
04-17-2014, 01:44 PM
"So, trust me...get a new helmet."

Or learn to ride safely with a group (or better yet solo)

wooly
04-17-2014, 04:26 PM

Witcombusa = http://img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100119153054/grouches/images/e/e1/Oscar_the_Grouch_2.jpg

jmoore
04-18-2014, 09:43 AM
I'm glad you are OK and not worse.

I will bet that a 5 year old, undamaged helmet would have worked the same as your new one. But certainly nothing wrong with a new helmet.

TexasJohn
04-18-2014, 09:44 AM
3 ribs, ouch. Glad you're ok. Get better

Which helmet?

Sorry for the delay...Thanks...feeling better every day. Specialized Chamonix...not expensive, about $50. It fit well.

oldpotatoe
04-18-2014, 09:52 AM
Sorry for the delay...Thanks...feeling better every day. Specialized Chamonix...not expensive, about $50. It fit well.