PDA

View Full Version : formula energy wheel

ada@prorider.or
02-05-2006, 11:45 AM
i try to calc the potential energy together with it's aerodymic's data
but all formula's i know there is only talking about mass
but to calc this its also moving in air
so in my opion you must take this calc at the same time as the aerodynamics data is take
becuase in my mind the lighter the air its moves more easily
to if you take data from day that the pressure is
1.20 kg /m3 then the next day its 1.18 kg/m3 its value's is differant
does some has a formula to calc this so you can include the aerodynamics data
this what i have
Ek = mvC2/2 + m.r2.?2/4

who can help
i am just a simple bike mechanic who try to understand where i go wrong
cees :banana:

Louis
02-05-2006, 12:05 PM
Cees,

As you know, potential energy is stored energy, e.g. a deflected spring (0.5 k x^2) or a mass at the top of a hill (mgh).

Other than the air in the tire, aerodynamics on the bike is mostly drag and wind forces on the wheel and rider. Aerodynamic effects should have little to do with potential energy, (at least the way I look at the problem).

Maybe I don’t understand the question, but I don’t see the connection between aerodynamics and stored energy.

Louis

See also:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potential_energy

Argos
02-05-2006, 12:06 PM
Maybe you should contact your local Low Speed Wind Tunnnel. I was down at the corner wind tunnel this morning on my way back during my ride... I picked up a Slurpee and some Fig Newtons and kept going, but they were doing all sorts of higher math and just having a grand old time.

ada@prorider.or
02-05-2006, 12:15 PM
Cees,

As you know, potential energy is stored energy, e.g. a deflected spring (0.5 k x^2) or a mass at the top of a hill (mgh).

Other than the air in the tire, aerodynamics on the bike is mostly drag and wind forces on the wheel and rider. Aerodynamic effects should have little to do with potential energy, (at least the way I look at the problem).