PDA

View Full Version : With or without... cycling computers that is?

saab2000
03-10-2004, 08:04 PM
Folks, I am wondering how many of you out there ride without computers.

I have been computerised since the early '80s when I started riding. I have always loved keeping track of distance and time and total distance for the season.

But I have recently done a lot of work on bikes and have not always re-installed the computers. I do not really miss them either. Of course, I know more or less how far my various routes are, but it becomes unimportant.

I have never been a regular user of a heart monitor and I cannot imagine training with a watt meter.

Anyway, the only thing I really miss is the clock function. I do not wear a watch when I ride, but I might start and just get rid of my computers all together.

What about you people?

If nothing else, the bike looks better sans computer. And it weighs about 50 grams less, too!! And it is more aerodynamic!!:banana:

Elefantino
03-10-2004, 08:37 PM
I use both a wireless computer (Nashbar, 15 bucks on sale), and a heart-rate monitor (CardioSport Club, free).

I'd love to have a Polar s720i, but because there is no Mac software from Polar, I won't buy one.

(Yeah, that's the reason.)

Can't imagine riding retro grouch. I monitor the HRM, watch my speed and do the cadence in my head via the timer.

If this is low-tech heresy with my CSI, then I plead guilty.

Mike

pbbob
03-10-2004, 08:39 PM
I have 1 computer shared among 2 bikes. If I remember to switch it fine, if I don't or ride a different bike then I don't use one. I wear a watch since I have never bothered to set the time function on the computer. never have kept track of total distance for a year. don't really miss having one. I did have a cheap heart monitor for a while. wore it for a few time trials.

bulliedawg
03-10-2004, 08:57 PM