PDA

View Full Version : New to Racing

ik2280
03-02-2014, 12:27 PM
So, I'm looking to try my hand at racing. I'm a student in New York City, but I'd prefer to race in general races (like the ones in Central Park, maybe?), not college ones. I've been told that I should check out the Century Road Club Association's website. It tells me that I need to buy a license, but one of those options is for college students, though I have a feeling that it's only for students who plan to race in college-specific races with their school's team.

Could a fellow New Yorker point me in the right direction as to where I should start? Don't have any experience racing, so I should probably take a class, or something like that.

(Also, if there's a thread like this already, I apologize, I couldn't find it.)

Thanks!

Ike

ultraman6970
03-02-2014, 12:55 PM
Was going to say something but don't want to bring the kid down.

How old are you?

EDS
03-02-2014, 12:56 PM
Join CRCA. Get a cat 5 license and get started. That easy. You will need to marshall before doing a CRCA (club rules) race but can do spring series races (these are not part of CRCA). Plenty of college and high schoolers racing so you won't be alone in that regard plenty of old dudes like me too though.

Let me know if you need more info.

christian
03-02-2014, 01:04 PM
Join CRCA and do the park races. Alternately, find someone going to Bethel the next five weeks and car pool with them.

RedRider
03-02-2014, 01:06 PM
Agreed. Join the CRCA this year, do some races, and then look to join one of their subteams for next season. They have a few really good Cat 5/4 development teams.
They also have a junior development program which would probably be available to you as a student.
Next Sunday, go to the Grant's Tomb race as a spectator and see all of the teams. https://www.bikereg.com/Net/22497
Have fun!

Wesley37
03-02-2014, 01:23 PM
Alternately, find someone going to Bethel the next five weeks and car pool with them.