PDA

View Full Version : XT BB with Shimano compact crank?

zennmotion
02-09-2014, 07:40 PM
OK stupid question, I'm new to the newfangled external bottom brackets so be kind. I have an aluminum cross frame that for some reason has a 73mm BB BSC BB shell. I want to put a compact road crank on it for you know, cyclocross. I'm cheap and I have a good Ritchey WSC octalink crank and BB in good shape. So do I have the BB shell shaved down to 68 and use what I have, or bite the bullet and get a modern external BB crank? The tech question is, can I use something like an XT BB with a compact road crank, or would I have to shave down the BB anyway to accomodate an external shimano road BB? I see where some BBs can be used for 68 or 73mm shells? Or am I completely confused? I have no desire to use a mtb crank for cross racing. I'm also cheap- I have no issues with the Octalink stuff I have and I'm confident that it would last a few seasons at least.

eddief
02-09-2014, 08:25 PM
your bb is 73 and road crank spindle length is built for 68. If your bb was 68 you could use a 73 external bb, but without the included spacers. It works in one direction, but not the other. That is my best guess.

kramnnim
02-09-2014, 08:46 PM
Can you use an MTB Octalink BB meant for 73mm?

Edit: I guess the spindle might protrude too far away from center so the chainline would be off.

oliver1850
02-09-2014, 09:25 PM
Shimano made an XTR V1 octalink BB in 112mm, but i don't know if they made it for a 73 mm shell or just the 68. If you could find a 73/112, your Q factor would only be 2.5 mm more than with the standard road BB. Be careful not to buy the XT 113 as it is the V2 long spine, and won't work with 105 - DA cranks.

Next longer size in an XTR is 116. It was surely made in 73 mm, if you can stand that much increase in Q.

http://www.bikerecyclery.com/shimano-bb-m950-xtr-octalink-v1-bottom-bracket-112-5

eddief
02-09-2014, 09:40 PM