PDA

View Full Version : Ride tracking sites suggestions

1happygirl
02-06-2014, 06:39 PM
Apologies if this has been covered already but since plans, technology, features change rapidly I thought I would ask.

I'm new to gps/ride tracking. I recently bought a Garmin 810 so my question is about tracking my rides.

I see Ride with GPS is somewhere around $80 a year. Is it worth it? I know there is also Map My Ride, etc.

I think for watching the Giro one year (in addition to money) NBC Sports/Universal made you create a free account with Map My Ride, but since I've never used any of these, I don't know which one is easiest and the best value.

My NEW Garmin is not working quite right (calls to Garmin, but I think we've straightened out) but due to my newness with the unit, I hit some laps that I didn't wanna hit and want deleted/edited out.
If you guys/gals also can help, I'm not sure how to create routes of rides I wanna do (Goal this year do fun tours until money budgeted runs out) on the computer or "on the fly" from the unit.

Thanks in advance as always!

oliver1850
02-06-2014, 10:59 PM
Here's the last thread that came up on the subject:

http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=142210&highlight=strava+mapmyride

You can join any of the three popular mapping sites with no fees, you just have to put up with the ads.

Mapping a ride ahead of time is pretty similar with any of the three, some function buttons are in different places though.

I don't use a GPS until but regularly map rides both before and after riding. This year I'm doing a composite map for the year which will have every ride I do in 2014, or at least all the ones that start from home. I'm going to try to ride every road in the county again this year and the composite will make it easier to see where I've been, where I haven't, and help me plan the next ride to get the maximum amount of "new" road mileage.