PDA

View Full Version : SRAM, why the bad rap?

Tony
01-23-2014, 09:16 AM
When I first started looking for a cross bike I turned down some deals because the bikes came with SRAM components. I did this due to hearing from several good folks here that SRAM is somewhat substandard to Shimano and Campy. I decided to just get the bike I wanted and down the road I'll upgrade to Shimano. I've been riding my cross bike with force drs and apex shifters almost everyday since I got the bike, half the the time on dirt trails. Seems like everything works nicely, I like the shifters.
My question, why the bad rap by some very experienced and knowledgeable folks here? Is it that the components don't last as long/not made as well?

gavingould
01-23-2014, 09:21 AM
the shifters don't generally handle crashes (even soft ones) too well. though i've been riding the stuff for about 4 years without much issue.

oldpotatoe
01-23-2014, 09:22 AM
When I first started looking for a cross bike I turned down some deals because the bikes came with SRAM components. I did this due to hearing from several good folks here that SRAM is somewhat substandard to Shimano and Campy. I decided to just get the bike I wanted and down the road I'll upgrade to Shimano. I've been riding my cross bike with force drs and apex shifters almost everyday since I got the bike, half the the time on dirt trails. Seems like everything works nicely, I like the shifters.
My question, why the bad rap by some very experienced and knowledgeable folks here? Is it that the components don't last as long/not made as well?

My experience is lack of long term reliability. Shifters, rear ders., BB and Rder bearings, chainrings.... Plus a long term fder issue, now 'fixed' but still not on par with others, IMHO.

I think they are more concerned about weight and cost and being first than designing then producing good, really good, gear. I think the wet disc fiasco is an example.