PDA

View Full Version : Road Brake Suggestions

Stan Lee
01-19-2014, 08:36 AM
I'm building up a new bike soon and I'm trying to decide on brakes. I'll most likely run Ultegra DI2, any reason to run something besides Shimano for brakes? I considered Pauls Racer Mediums but I don't like the idea of having to run a cable stop somehow for the rear. I like the look of the machined brakes and the idea of supporting a smaller company but I don't know if there are any that offer better performance/function which is more important.

Any thoughts?

FlashUNC
01-19-2014, 08:53 AM
I wouldn't overthink it. Ultegra and Dura Ace both work great.

AngryScientist
01-19-2014, 09:49 AM
i just rebuilt an older bike and used a 6800 Ultegra front brake. it is superb. the newest offerings from shimano are fantastic in all areas, brakes included. go with Ultegra,

Stan Lee
01-19-2014, 10:00 AM
Thanks for that, very helpful and I assumed that was the case but wanted to make sure.

I have a lot of experience with MTBs and CX bikes where arguably some of the smaller companies can out perform the big ones but I didn't know if that was true with road. I did a quick google search and brought up this review which made me wonder whether I should look into other options.

http://www.bikerumor.com/2008/12/15/bikerumor-review-feather-road-brakes/

I honestly haven't put a lot of thought into it, saying that it keeps me out of trouble.

Tony
01-19-2014, 10:10 AM
The writer states "I’ve had Zero Gravity’s, Dura-Ace and Campy’s and these are way better than any of them. I almost endo’d while I was seated.”

I find that hard to believe. I've not experienced better brakes with the current Dura Ace.

veloduffer
01-19-2014, 10:12 AM
If you want, I have a set of SRAM Force skeleton calipers that I was going to sell. Grayish anodized and lightweight at 285 grams total with pads. Only a bit of surface rust on bolt on the back. PM if you are interested.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/20/zyjaqydy.jpg