PDA

View Full Version : Front rack pointers (DIY)

p nut
01-15-2014, 05:02 PM
I'm looking to make a front rack for my wife's bike (for her b-day). Looked at VO racks and Nitto, but maybe making something would be even better. I thought of using a hard wood for the base (Cherry or Cedar). Thinking of having my daughter paint a little flower or something girly before putting the finishing coat on. I think fashioning some metal brackets for the struts would be easy enough? I would just bolt these on to the bottom of the board. Same deal with the fork mount.

The question is, I have never used or built a front rack before. Is there something I'm missing? Precautionary measures? I quickly put together a rather spectacular Paint drawing (below) of what I have in my head. It's not going to sit as high as the one below, but you get the idea. The bike is a Surly Disc Trucker, so no canti brakes to mess with or work around. It does have low rider brazeons to attach the struts to. The rack will not carry anything heavy. Just a front bag or basket with small personal items (cell phone, keys, little snacks, etc. Maybe 10lbs at most?), so weight capacity is not a big concern, however, stability is, as we do rides on dirt laden with potholes and stints of washboard. I'm just trying to think if there are any weaknesses to the design. Pretty much copied VO/Nitto racks, although it's not a full cromo rack, I think the rack will be stout enough for its uses.

Any input welcome. Thanks.

559Rando
01-15-2014, 05:37 PM
There was a similar DIY rack in an early Bicycle Quarterly. I I can find the reference I'll post back. The key part used was a Park handlebar holder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Coluber42
01-16-2014, 12:38 PM