PDA

View Full Version : Mirrors

cmbicycles
01-12-2014, 11:01 PM
Does anyone have a non-obtrusive mirror on their road bike that they like?

With having had a couple near misses in the last few months and seeing several on this forum that have been hit, I keep coming back the idea of getting one. I used to laugh at the idea of having a mirror, but since I am older, fatter, and have a family I figure if I can find one that works that is pretty inobtrusive I may as well give it a try. I lean towards something that goes in the end of a drop bar, but doesn't stick out much. Is there such a beast? An incognito mirror that works well?

Admiral Ackbar
01-13-2014, 12:23 AM
the ultralite german mirror is supposed to be pretty good

donevwil
01-13-2014, 12:59 AM
After waking up in the ER totally unaware that I'd had an accident (and been hit-and-run'd) I started riding with a mirror. Tried a handlebar end mounted one and hated it (to shaky and poor optics), then tried three different plastic framed helmet mounted ones before settling on the Take-A-Look mirror that mounts on my glasses. Glass mirror is very clear and the metal frame lasts and is rigid. It provides a darn good field of view for it's size (close to the eye) and allows you to look around, not just behind. Once it's set right and you're used to it, it's not annoying at all. Of course I do occasionally receive a "comment" on club rides, but after my experience I could care less what they think. I don't race any more either, so legality isn't a concern. Some bike tours require a mirror.

biker.caliente
01-13-2014, 01:11 AM
I've used Take-A-Look and several other sunglasses-mounted mirrors after a oh-so-close-call by a car when I didn't turn my head enough to look back. So far, Take-A-Look works the best for me, especially the compact version. After using these for a while, it is by no means obtrusive at all. Nowadays, I don't ride without them. Period.

You neck is always way more precious than your image.

biker72