PDA

View Full Version : Garmin Edge Touring

majorpat
01-10-2014, 08:39 AM
Anyone have experience with this new GPS? More for navigation, I'm not interested in the power/HR etc in the higher priced models. Any feedback welcome, thanks.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/sports/cycling/edge-touring/prod134596.html

Pat

druptight
01-10-2014, 09:19 AM
Anyone have experience with this new GPS? More for navigation, I'm not interested in the power/HR etc in the higher priced models. Any feedback welcome, thanks.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/sports/cycling/edge-touring/prod134596.html

Pat

Just read this review about this yesterday:

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2013/08/garmin-touring-computer.html

I've got no firsthand experience, but the fact that it's not even capable of doing speed/cadence using a sensor makes this one a tough buy for me. I don't do HR or Power either, but if you ever want to use it on a trainer, the speed/cadence is sort of a necessity.

benb
01-10-2014, 09:33 AM
This seems like a good option to use with a cycle-computer for a lower cost mapping/nav capable option.

I use an eTrex model on the handlebars occasionally for the same type of purpose. This might work a little better.

I don't want to pay for all the training stuff as it brings with it an added time burden to actually do something useful with all that data, and I certainly don't want to buy a model that tracks performance data but can't be used for navigation.

I didn't see in the review what the battery setup was.. for actual touring an AA setup like in stuff like the eTrex might be superior as a tourist won't necessarily always have easy access to power to recharge a battery.

The price is a lot better on this, IMO a lot of garmin's stuff is way overpriced for the quality level it is at.

staggerwing
01-10-2014, 09:53 AM
Thanks for pointing that out. Looks like it has most of what I need.