PDA

View Full Version : training for dummies.

Admiral Ackbar
12-30-2013, 07:24 PM
ok well I'm fairly new to road bikes, only been riding 3 or so years (on and off) have raced xc in my late teenage years and ridden bmx for a decade or so. but I've really come to enjoy road biking. i can knock out 100k rides without much trouble at a fairly moderate pace, 15 or so mph id say - maybe less, but i don't run a computer so i can't say for sure.

i ride almost every day, schedule and weather allowing, between 30-120k. i ride alone, almost always have except during races when i did that and the occasionally xc group ride before my old lbs went south.

what I'm getting at is that i want to be faster, on the flats, uphill, on rolling terrain etc. i know the atypical advice is to go on group rides, find riding buddies and play off them but I'm mostly into riding by myself to be honest.

so to cut to the chase, are there any simple training methods or routines i could get my self started on to built up my fitness/pace?

lately I've been doing sub 50k rides followed by 50k+ rides the following day (or the next day I'm able to) then back to a sub 50, 50+, sub 50, etc. been on that only about 2 weeks but I've felt like its been working. core and leg strength seems up, did a moderately paced 120k+ today without much hassle at all. but as i said id ilke to up that pace and just be faster overall.

anyone got some input for me?

stien
12-30-2013, 08:23 PM
I"m jealous of how much time you have, and how far you can ride.

Try exchanging distance for speed a bit a day here, a day there.

Uncle Jam's Army
12-30-2013, 08:48 PM
Intervals. The fastest way to get speed into your legs. You should have a very good base before doing intervals, though (IMO). It sounds like you do.