PDA

View Full Version : OT: Darn, my single cup coffee machine broke

AngryScientist
12-16-2013, 07:27 AM
lots of smoke this morning, but no coffee! darn!

i'm sort of a coffee snob, but for morning use, i need quick and go!

i had a small brewer that allowed me to use fresh ground coffee (not k-cups or pre-packaged stuff), pour in one mug of water and brew. made pretty decent coffee for a single cup in the morning, probably because i used fresh ground, fresh sourced beans.

the one i had was a cheapy Hamilton Beach machine. didnt last long enough for me, and it's shot now.

what do i want?

mtb_frk
12-16-2013, 07:36 AM
I was looking at picking one up for Xmas. I was thinking the kuerig vue. I have never used one before and don't really like coffee, my wife though likes all the sweet fancy drinks. So I am hoping that she can find some kind mocha latte in a vue cup that she likes.

echelon_john
12-16-2013, 07:47 AM
If you like strong coffee, tough to beat this IMO.

The size (6 cups) refers to small espresso shots; this size is what you want for a decent sized cup of strong joe.

Low tech, pretty fast, and virtually unbreakable. Plus it travels well.

http://www.amazon.com/Bialetti-Express-6-Cup-Stovetop-Espresso/dp/B000CNY6UK

staggerwing
12-16-2013, 07:55 AM
Aeropress

crownjewelwl
12-16-2013, 08:00 AM
nespresso

fast, easy, consistent, good

dnades
12-16-2013, 08:01 AM
2nd the aeropress. great cup and nothing to go wrong with it.

Neil
12-16-2013, 08:09 AM
Aeropress for on the move, Gaggia Factory 106 for the kitchen.

CDollarsign
12-16-2013, 08:24 AM
Kalita wave or Chemex with Able Kone. Seriously, it adds 10 minutes to your morning routine if you start water boiling, then shower, then make coffee...

Throw all the k cup nespresso garbage away.

pbarry
12-16-2013, 08:32 AM
If you like strong coffee, tough to beat this IMO.

The size (6 cups) refers to small espresso shots; this size is what you want for a decent sized cup of strong joe.