PDA

View Full Version : OT: IP phone service

eddief
01-22-2006, 02:40 PM
Sorry to divert energy from all the important surveys currently coming up on the board, but have been considering IP phone service (Vonage) and was wondering who has it and if it works better than Silca floor pumps?

Kevin
01-22-2006, 04:12 PM
I have been using it at the office for about 4 years. The provider is Lightpath, a division of Cablevision. It has been extremely reliable and much cheaper than getting a traditional phone package for a hundred lines.

Kevin

kestrel
01-22-2006, 06:11 PM
I have one friend that has it in his residence. Seems fine except I believe he has more service glitches than before. I was talking to him last night and the line just went dead. He called me back in a minute and said it does that sometimes. He still says it's worth is for the flat rate charge rather than the long distance bills he's been getting.

Mikej
01-22-2006, 06:15 PM
Especially when it rings. riiiiiiinnnggg, riiiiiinnnnggg. Just thinkin' about that phone ticks me off, and its not even ringing, you know what I'm sayin?

Dekonick
01-22-2006, 06:18 PM
Oohhh - be careful!

You need a reliable internet provider that will gurantee both upstream and downstream bandwith - alot of cable providers give great downstream but crappy upstream bandwith.

I tried it two years ago and switched back (but kept the DSL as it was faster than cable back then - the gurantee of 756kbps upstream and 3megabit down sold me - for DSL it is all about how close you are to the switch. I get 6 megabit down, 725 +/- up and didn't have a great phone connection if anything else was using bandwith while I talked)

Perhaps it is better now... If you have a T3 go for it...

OT my Broncos just did not perform as I wanted and the Steelers were playing like champions. I am going to drink a glass of wine to help numb the pain. :crap:

znfdl
01-22-2006, 07:44 PM