PDA

View Full Version : @ age 60, reconsidering rigid fork on Potts 29er.

Dave Ferris
12-12-2013, 08:32 PM
After putting a deposit down late Oct. it will be a few months before I have to make a final decision, so I have some time.. But after riding twice a week the past month down this fireroad by my home (where I'll do 80% of my trail riding), where there are some pretty nasty ruts and rock gardens--I'm considering a Fox 100mm fork as opposed to the Type 2 Cunningham.

I know it's considered sacrilegious in some Potts/mtn biking circles...but hey I'm 60, mainly a runner and all biking (road & mtn.) are crosstraining for me. So I don't want to get too thrashed, I get enough of that just trying to keep my running thing going these days.

In fact in our initial meeting, Steve suggested the Fox option over the type 2. Especially after finding out I was a pro musician/pianist for 45 years. He's grown up around musicians and said..yeah we have to protect those hands. But I pretty much pushed for the rigid.

I've been in close contact with a local rigid Potts owner out by Jack Brunk in TO. He's at age 44 and has his set up as a SS. He's also much taller then me at 6'3", and has the option to go with a suspended fork if he ever chooses someday.

I'm at 5'9" and Steve he wouldn't feel right about building a frame that could accommodate both for me at my height..So it's either one or the other. It's a boatload of dough to be locked into a rigid, never having ridden a rigid. I did start on an old Stumpjumper M1 hardtail back in the 80s (with front shock) but have been on a FS Ellsworth Truth since 2004.

The fellow in TO has offered to lend me his bike but because of the huge discrepancy in the geo, he thought it would be inconclusive. And to tell the truth, not sure I could even make it up my trail on a SS to test the downhill...lol It's pretty darn steep.