PDA

View Full Version : Which of the big boys would you buy?

vqdriver
12-08-2013, 06:37 PM
Given all the (distasteful) drama around some of the big names, who's left standing that you'd feel good about buying from?

I mean, we can't all buy all custom all the time right?

rodcad
12-08-2013, 06:49 PM
For me at least I never even give the "big boys" a thought. Well maybe Surly now and then but I don't think that's who you're referring to here. I always think used custom.

choke
12-08-2013, 06:53 PM
None. When I go to a LBS that sells mainstream stuff I barely even give the bikes a glance.

I started riding seriously on MTBs and wasn't sure if a road bike was for me or not - so I bought a Specialized Sirrus (with Suntour no less) to give it a whirl. It was OK and I liked riding the road so it was quickly replaced with a Ciöcc. Since then, other than a Bianchi which was only sold as a frameset, every bike I've purchased was from more obscure builders. I also have zero interest in carbon bikes so that rules out nearly everything from the big companies.

oldpotatoe
12-08-2013, 06:56 PM
Given all the (distasteful) drama around some of the big names, who's left standing that you'd feel good about buying from?

None but there are a lot of frames made by mid sized builders. Not direct to the customer and not necessarily custom. Small, direct builder's numbers actually pretty small percentage of total bike sales.

thirdgenbird
12-08-2013, 07:01 PM
New? None, but not because any of the drama.

fuzzalow
12-08-2013, 07:05 PM
None. Not whether old, new, borrowed or blue. Never have in a lifetime of cycling. Can never say never, but likely never will.

#campyuserftw
12-08-2013, 07:07 PM
Parlee is as big as I'll get.

oliver1850
12-08-2013, 07:10 PM