PDA

View Full Version : Am I an idiot?Cassette vs derailleur??

spokelacer
12-08-2013, 09:42 AM
I have just rebuilt a custom Rock Lobster after a bad crash years ago. I am running Record 10 with compact rings. The rear is 13-29. Oddly, the derailleur seems to push up to the chain/cassette and make a rubbing sound. I have built about 50 bikes with Campy ten(I am a has been mechanic). Other than compact, I don't see what is different...

Any advice?

lhuerta
12-08-2013, 09:45 AM
...just rebuilt a custom Rock Lobster after a bad crash years ago.

Did u check alignment of ur rear der hanger (with proper tool) after said bad crash? Lou

Richard
12-08-2013, 09:48 AM
run the "b" screw in or perhaps your chain is too long.

Steve in SLO
12-08-2013, 09:56 AM
Agree with lhuerta and Richards comments. Your chain might also be too short. If it is rubbing the 29 cog, then it is likely too short if it is rubbing the 13, it is likely too long.

spokelacer
12-08-2013, 10:11 AM
The frame is aligned, as is the hanger. Actually, the Mavic Kyserium SSL SCs (sorry about the spelling) crushed and the Q fork took the blow, along with my knee. This allowed the frame to survive. The ride in the trunk of a cop car was the worst of it believe it or not.

I am sure the chain isn't too short. I could take out another link. Also the frame has very short stays so any cross chaining is very problematic.

#campyuserftw
12-08-2013, 10:25 AM
The B Screw (aka Hidden Screw) moves the RD cage away from the cassette, or allows it to be closer. Check it. Make the cage move away from the 29 until the noise disappears:

http://www.ctownbikes.com/wp-content/themes/patagonia/images/b-screw-adjust.jpg

If the upper wheel of the RD is too close to the 29, the chain will be too close to the 29, causing chatter/noise:

http://www.ctownbikes.com/wp-content/themes/patagonia/images/b-screw.jpg