PDA

View Full Version : Buying advice - Mavic CrossMax 26" MTB wheels

Exonerv
11-25-2013, 09:31 PM
Hey guys...

I have the opportunity to pick up a pair of NOS Mavic CrossMax SL (UST) disk 26" wheels for $300 delivered and wondered if I should pull the trigger or wait for something better to come along.

These are actually the same wheels I'm currently running on my Dean Ti soft tail and they're getting the job done. However, I'm relatively new to MTB and don't really know at this point what other comparable options there may be. Still $300 for this wheelset seems like an awfully good value.

I'd welcome any feedback or considerations....

Thanks!

wtex
11-25-2013, 09:36 PM
I've got a front non-disk, thing of beauty, wish I had the rear to match it. Great wheels.

kramnnim
11-25-2013, 09:39 PM
They're the 26" version of Ksyrium SLs, right? The freehub design is kind of awful, but thousands of riders have millions of miles on them...and yeah, that's pretty cheap...

Gshock
11-26-2013, 12:44 AM
second that on the free hub...needs to be re-lubed and tightened up regularly. The spokes nipples also tend to become fused to the rim with age...

Exonerv
11-26-2013, 05:52 AM
So, at the $300 price point...could I do better?

What other MTB wheels are known to be very good? I've seen XT hubs/wheels at pretty reasonable prices. Are they comparable to Ultegra road hubs in build quality?

MTB stuff is like learning another language...but that's half the fun.

Mike

dustyrider
11-26-2013, 08:56 AM
Since you're looking at UST, I'm not entirely sure if that's a requirement.
I've never had a desire to run tubeless. thanks to my friend's riding experience, I know all I need to know.