PDA

View Full Version : Non-bulky Winter Gear Recs Needed

thegunner
11-12-2013, 07:10 PM
I know, we've done this ad nauseam before, but hey - it's winter time, what better to discuss than winter gear! plus new crap might be out or wahtever.

I need recs on shoe covers that would be good down to the 30's... would love for them to double on race duty for wet days, so something non-bulky is ideal

Same goes for gloves, good down to 30's / waterproof would be nice.

Since this is about personal comfort, price is... er... less of a factor.

rando
11-12-2013, 08:17 PM
Since you weren't overly specific on your cold tolerance or type of shoe cover I'll recommend the LG Neo Protect for neoprene or Specialized Squadra (still available but not made anymore) rain covers for a lower profile but no insulation.

professerr
11-12-2013, 08:19 PM

notsew
11-13-2013, 08:27 PM
+1 LG Neo Protect. Cheap and warm.

NateM
11-14-2013, 04:35 AM
I have been using these for 5 yrs now and think they are one of the best solutions for cold feet,they are also fairly waterproof. I use them when it drops into the 40's and down to the single digits.I use chem pack toe warmers with wool socks below 15 degrees.They are not bulky at all and close up on your shoe and ankle with velcro on the back, better than zippers which don't last through salt and snowy conditions.I get about 2 yrs out of a pair, wearing them every day,from Nov-Mar 150 miles per week commuting.The kevlar fabric on the bottom gets fairly ratty at that point.I've tried many other shoe covers and these are by far the best investment.
http://www.goreapparel.com/gore-bike-wear-road-thermo-gore-tex-overshoes/4017912591928,default,pd.html?cm_mmc=Google-_-Gore%20US%20GS%20PLA-_-All%20Products-_-Feed%20US

merlincustom1
11-14-2013, 05:35 AM
^+1

merckx
11-14-2013, 06:04 AM
^ +2

lhuerta
11-14-2013, 06:21 AM