PDA

View Full Version : Cramping

Tony
11-06-2013, 11:33 PM
I did 72 miles today. This is the second time in the last two weeks after doing a long ride that I have experienced cramping in my legs, painful. I felt like I drank enough water throughout the ride and after. What do most folks use to combat cramping?
Thanks for any advice.

rain dogs
11-06-2013, 11:35 PM
I think a good place to start looking is your sodium and potassium levels (keep in mind, I'm not a doctor, but I play one on the internerds.)

gngroup
11-06-2013, 11:46 PM
I recently did the Levi Gran Fondo and one of the guys I was riding with said that he took ibuprofren during long rides to prevent cramping.

Personally, I'd say drink plenty of liquid the night before the ride, add an electrolyte tablet/powder to one of your water bottles, and maybe do some stretching the morning of the ride. A banana on your way out the door can't hurt either!

shovelhd
11-07-2013, 05:51 AM
Pre hydration is important, as is electrolyte replacement on the bike. Plain water may not be adequate. I use Gatorade G2, others like Nuun tablets or other additives. Analgesics aren't a good idea.

ultraman6970
11-07-2013, 06:23 AM
I don't ride too much and the intensity of the rides is not too hard either, but what I noticed is that when the seatpost height is in the wrong place you increase the tendency of having cramps, apparently because a set of muscles is working more than the other ones, or working in the wrong position. For example if quads cramps then you might have the saddle a few mm too high, you get old and the body gets picky.

1centaur
11-07-2013, 06:27 AM
Cramping threads lead in these directions: electrolytes (everyone is different vis potassium, sodium, magnesium) and the many, many ways to get them. This is the most commonly effective path, the quickest and the easiest.

Fitness: This is a popular recent twist - fit/trained people don't get cramps very much. My advice - take electrolytes while you train :)