PDA

View Full Version : Chance and why I post

velotel
11-02-2013, 04:10 PM
My being in France was the result of pure chance and having the good sense to jump on the chance. My jumping took a few years but, still, here I am.

I’d never been to France or Europe. A mountain guy either in the high valleys of Colorado or the red canyons of Utah. Never gave the idea of going to Europe much thought. A little back in the 60s when I was a ski instructor (glorified ski bum if you want) in Aspen when for awhile there was a strong french influence after Killy came on the scene. I even had the opportunity to ski with Killy and some of his teammates after he and they had cleaned up at the 68 Games and that definitely got me a bit amped up to fly over. Faded pretty quickly though and that was that for dreams of going to Europe. Especially after I moved over the mountains to Crested Butte.

Many years later I started Mountain Bike Magazine. Kind of crazy given that outside of writing for Skiing Magazine I knew nothing about publishing and the magazine business. Ignorance didn’t seem like a major problem at the time so it was pedal to the medal, accelerating into the darkness with no map, no lights, and a gas tank running mostly on fumes. Seemed like a terrific idea at the time. Pure ad lib. Amazingly it all worked out. Ended up selling the mag to Rodale Press and Bicycling and worked for them for a few years. That we weren’t listening to the same music and barely even walking on the same planet was pretty obvious from just about the get go but unbeknownst to Bicycling, I had to sell. The fumes in the gas tank were getting weaker and weaker.