PDA

View Full Version : Lifespan of a Campagnolo chain?

saab2000
10-29-2013, 02:13 PM
I have to remove a 10-speed chain. It has slightly under 1000 miles. I have replacement links and the miles have not been hard or dirty or wet miles. The chain is pretty clean for the most part.

Keep? Or discard and replace?

What kind of life do you folks get from your high-end chains?

I figure I can do another 1000 but maybe it's easier to just get a new one.

druptight
10-29-2013, 02:16 PM
This thread just recently happened and might provide some answers:

http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=138237&highlight=chain

67-59
10-29-2013, 02:22 PM
As the other thread indicates, there are nearly as many opinions as there are cyclists...and measuring is usually the best guide.

But FWIW - I have been running Record 10 chains for several years, and usually get at least 2,000-3,000 miles. I'd be pretty surprised if you need to replace after only 1,000 miles that weren't hard, dirty or wet....

jpw
10-29-2013, 02:35 PM
a thousand miles is poor value from a chain.

plattyjo
10-29-2013, 02:38 PM
I waited 7 years and goodness knows how many miles before I replaced my Campy 10sp chain - and it wasn't even stretched to the brink yet!

ultraman6970
10-29-2013, 02:42 PM
+1 here, under racing conditions probably will last a few months but for slowpos like me that left racing behind like 30 years ago and can't move their butts faster than 15 mph the campy chain will last a very long time. I had to replace mines because they were just old and noisy. THen moved to KMC, last even more than the campy ones.

oldpotatoe
10-29-2013, 03:28 PM
I have to remove a 10-speed chain. It has slightly under 1000 miles. I have replacement links and the miles have not been hard or dirty or wet miles. The chain is pretty clean for the most part.

Keep? Or discard and replace?

What kind of life do you folks get from your high-end chains?