PDA

View Full Version : OT the value of music lessons

rwsaunders
10-29-2013, 06:02 AM
Tell your kid to keep rocking that oboe.

http://m.smartplanet.com/blog/bulletin/the-next-great-inventor-will-likely-take-music-lessons-as-a-kid/32935?tag=nl.e660?s_cid=e660&ttag=e660&ftag=TRE4eb 29b5

redir
10-29-2013, 07:15 AM
This is why it bugs me when budget cuts remove arts from public education. Music is math and science and art all rolled into one fun and addicting package.

Bob Ross
10-29-2013, 09:00 AM
great link, thanks!

(...says the guy who had music lessons from age 8, went on to get a Bachelor's and a Master's degree in music...and doesn't hold any patents.)

RFC
10-29-2013, 09:09 AM
Agree with all of the above.

Also, chicks dig guys who play the piano, so you've got that going for you!

Pars
10-29-2013, 11:30 AM
Also agree with all of the above.

My BA is in Music as well, but I work as an engineer now. I finished my degree even though I knew I probably would not use it, and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

MadRocketSci
10-29-2013, 11:52 AM
Also, chicks' moms dig guys who play the piano, so you've got that going for you!

fixed it for you :)

MadRocketSci
10-29-2013, 11:55 AM
This is why it bugs me when budget cuts remove arts from public education. Music is math and science and art all rolled into one fun and addicting package.

agreed...music and art are the first things to go.

Ken Robb
10-29-2013, 12:13 PM
My wife is Music Director at a Lutheran Church and School. She leads kids' choirs,adult choir and handbell choirs. All the kids get music and art instruction. She is also the organist and gives private lessons on piano and/or organ.