PDA

View Full Version : Any Cyclist / runners out there ?

Fixed
10-23-2013, 08:52 AM
I am adding a little running to the mix which can be a difficult addition for me since I just started riding again only a few weeks ago , not to mention the hilly terrain I now live in .. But I am starting easy with baby steps ,so here goes my third day out the door running it is all for fun , I may even do a road race if everything goes well .i used to be a decent runner placing in my age group in most of the races I entered , bay to breakers seems to calling me here :)
Just wondering how other cyclist balance their riding and running workouts without over doing it
Cheers :)

Cat3roadracer
10-23-2013, 09:05 AM
I run about 25 miles a week. I prefer to cycle, but it's dark now when I get home. Starting is the hardest part for me, the first 500 yards is very painful. Things then settle in and 3, 5, or 7 miles is enjoyable.

Not sure it does much for cycling, but it does keep one healthy.

thwart
10-23-2013, 09:05 AM
Glad to hear you're doing better. I tend to ride a bit stronger on the bike when I mix in a bit of running. Once every 7-10 days seems to work for me when used as cross-training.

Tend to do more in the off-season, as it gets me outside, at a time when the cycling options are pretty much limited to the rollers...

GScot
10-23-2013, 09:15 AM
I run more frequently than I ride. I find that once I'm in shape to run even a short break from it makes for a couple of miserable runs getting back up to pace. I say I do it to keep the dog exercised but I have grown to enjoy it. I think running improved my climbing while standing and it is another way to suffer, which I enjoy.

bikemoore
10-23-2013, 10:24 AM