PDA

View Full Version : Thank you Park Tool, I now have a nice gouge in my brand new rim...

Gsinill
09-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Just finished my TB14 wheel build and when I put on new Gatorskins, the tip of my Park Tool tire levers snapped off. I was lucky that I realized it right away but nevertheless I now have a gouge on the edge of the rim :butt:

avalonracing
09-07-2013, 06:03 PM
I have been using a Quik Stik for 20 years. It still the best lever that I have ever tried and I don't know why they aren't more popular. They don't break, they don't scratch and they are inexpensive. I might just have to buy a gross of them and sell them to you guys.

Richard
09-07-2013, 06:07 PM
I've had the same quick stik for about 20 years too. I didn't know they were still made. Beat tire levers, hands down.

Don49
09-07-2013, 06:35 PM
Yeah the Quick Stiks are great and last forever. They used to come in two lengths, the standard length (6"?) and a shorter version for concealed carry.

I sympathize with the OP. I also have a pair of those Park metal core tire levers (TL-6) and could definitely see that happening.

cachagua
09-07-2013, 06:50 PM
Wasn't there another brand of lever that had a steel insert like that? I thought they'd be a good idea and bought a pair, and broke both the first time I tried them.

Sorry to hear about your rim. . . maybe it's more or less hidden, up at the edge? Maybe when the brakes wear the sides a little it won't be too noticeable? Very lovely wheels, even with a little beauty-mark. And the SWEET ride.

gemship
09-07-2013, 07:32 PM
Live and learn. That's nothing. Ever try doing tubeless motorcycle tires by hand? Now your talking and yes try as I may to shield the irons with cut up bleach bottles, I gouged them and they still work. Touched up with black paint:p