PDA

View Full Version : Rant: The Colorado/ USA Pro Tour Challenge is a Joke

firerescuefin
08-22-2013, 02:56 PM
First of all this post pains me to write...

I am a Colorado resident, and I desperately want/believe this could be a good race.

Uninspired routes, lame finishes, a race that has names in it...but none that matter, target it for anything other than a TdF hangover morning after bloody Mary.

The only thing the race has is sprint finishes...but Sagan could beat the rest of these guys with one leg (there are no other legit sprinters that show, and haven't for the last 3 years).

I have a hard time bringing myself to watch it...and I watch everything.

BumbleBeeDave
08-22-2013, 03:04 PM
. . . but it seems to be in a difficult place in the calendar. If top people are in the Tour and they--or a significant portion of their team--are also aiming for the Vuelta, then it would seem to me to be counterproductive to jaunt halfway around the world, do a major race, and possibly get injured when they could be resting up and doing specific training for the Vuelta.

Granted, the vuelta is not the biggest race in the world either, but if I was a European based sponsor like Quick-Step I would want my stars--aka Cav, etc.--to show the company colors on kind of home turf in Spain rather than in the US where they may not have as much sales presence.

Just a wild guess . . .

BBD

alessandro
08-22-2013, 03:13 PM
Go on--don't stop there. For a good rant, you need to get properly wound up, and then, when you hit a nice high cadence, do some quality venting for a while before you pull off.

At least you and chenger are watching it. Me, I'm at work, so I have to take it on faith that there's very little to see, but I'd like the chance to form my own opinion. My problems are: