PDA

View Full Version : Colnago Geometry over the years

Lugger
08-22-2013, 01:20 PM
Hi folks! Newbie here, posting for the first time. Hoping I'm doing it in the right place and in the right way. Anyone out there have any idea of how Colnago geometry may have changed over the years. In particular, I'm looking at a used 55cm 2000 Master X Light. The current specs for that model would fit me to a T, but wondering how much (if any) the geometry could have changed over 13 years.

Thx!

Grant McLean
08-22-2013, 01:49 PM
Here is a scan of the geo chart from the 2001 catalog.

You might need to look at a set-back chart to figure out the seat tube
angle, since Colnago wasn't always keen of printing that, or the head angle.
It's really the horizontal measurement that matters anyway.

-g

Lugger
08-22-2013, 02:14 PM
Thx Grant! That's way more information than I thought I'd ever find. Looks liek the bike will fit me fine (if its really the size noted in the description).
jim

roydyates
08-22-2013, 07:51 PM
Grant,

Your chart is really helpful. It resolves for me that my Master is the AxB=590x569 size.

So when people sell largish Colnagos, maybe the sizing confusion comes quoting the size as the yellow column D size for the ctc ST. Since this isn't unique to each frame, it would explain why colnago sizing is often unreliable.

wallymann
08-22-2013, 09:56 PM
plus the fact that colnago geometry *changed* across the board in like 2007 or thereabouts. there's a whole 'nuther geo chart depending on the date of manufacture.

Grant,

Your chart is really helpful. It resolves for me that my Master is the AxB=590x569 size.

when people sell largish Colnagos, maybe the sizing confusion comes quoting the size as the yellow column D size for the ctc ST. Since this isn't unique to each frame, it would explain why colnago sizing is often unreliable.

Grant McLean
08-22-2013, 10:27 PM