PDA

View Full Version : one inch steerer fork recommendation?

tv_vt
12-28-2005, 11:12 AM
I have a 60cm Merckx Ti with a Time fork w/ a one inch steel steerer tube. Am thinking about a new fork - any recommendations for one inch forks with 275mm steerer tubes? I was in Belmont Wheelworks the other day and noticed a lot of Serottas with Kestrel forks, with steel steerers. My inclination is to stay with non-CF steerers. Appreciate any feedback.

Thom

Dr. Doofus
12-28-2005, 11:14 AM
ouzo comp

little flexy, but the alloy steerer is what you need

CalfeeFly
12-28-2005, 11:30 AM
I highly recommend it. Very stiff and the steerer is alloy. They "invented" the carbon fork and still have a lifetime warranty on it.

Fixed
12-28-2005, 01:23 PM
bro I got a kelly steel threadless it is rock steady i.m.h.o. cheers :beer:

Marron
12-28-2005, 01:44 PM
I've been using an Ouzo Pro on my 61cm Ti Merck for the past 4 years. It's plenty stiff for me and probably a half pound lighter than the alloy or steel alternatives. Last time I checked Reynolds was still offering the 1" steerer.

pale scotsman
12-28-2005, 01:55 PM
The Kestrel is good. I had the 1" steel threadless steerer tube model on a 60cm Legend and it was rock steady. Replaced it with a 1" ouzo pro and the bike rode so much better imho.

Gothard
12-28-2005, 03:14 PM
I like the Wound-Up fork. Not to everyone aesthetic tastes, but it serves me very well on the Alps descents at 50+.

Ken Robb
12-28-2005, 03:30 PM
I like my 1" Profile Design AC-1 which is all carbon and I think it comes with alloy steerer too. I also like Ouzo pros and comps but the AC-1 will take 28mm tires.

93legendti
12-28-2005, 04:36 PM
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/profile.cfm?sku=16749

Cheaply priced Profile...I just got a Wound Up 1" for my 650c bike and it is built like a beast. Very confidence inspiring.

Louis
12-29-2005, 12:34 PM
Replaced it with a 1" ouzo pro and the bike rode so much better imho.

PS,