PDA

View Full Version : (Br)Oakley's

kgreene10
08-17-2013, 03:59 PM
I ride with prescription Oakley lenses in their Flak Jacket frame. I've been using them for four years and they have great optics, great fit, etc. As those of you who wear prescription lenses know, they are really expensive.

Well, every two years or a little less, the tab breaks on the outside of the left lens. This is the tab that holds the lens into the frame. I never remove the lens from the frame so it's not from repeated stress due to the tight entry and exit.

Anyone know why this might be happening?

I thought it might be from salty sweat that gets in there, but then it would likely occur on both sides. Same goes for road vibration. The frame grooves look the same on both sides.

The first time it happened two years ago, I thought it was a fluke and I bought new lenses from Oakley. When it happened again a month ago, I worked with Sports Rx that sold them to me to get Oakley to do a warranty replacement, which they did. I'm certainly happy about that. But it's a one-time deal, they said, and I wouldn't really want to have to pay for new lenses every 18-24 months for something that breaks without user negligence. Anyone have an idea about what causes it?

regularguy412
08-17-2013, 06:09 PM
I dunno what causes the issue on that particular model, but I gave up on purchasing Oakleys a LONNNNNNNNGGG time ago. I purchased (paid for) 3 different pairs - two for myself, one pair for my wife. All three (different styles, I might add) broke in exactly the same place -- in the frame just above the lens near the temple hinge. Oakley replaced 2 of those 3 pairs under warranty, but after the third pair broke, I got tired of dealing with the hassle and didn't even send those in. I superglued the lens into the frame and the frame back together -- all at the same time. I can still wear them (if I want), but there will be no lens changing.