PDA

View Full Version : Serotta guy buying a Parlee

victork
08-15-2013, 11:45 PM
Time to add another steed to the stable since I'm turning 50 this year and haven't purchased a bike in over 10 years. My Legend will be relegated to my rain bike and I'm going to buy a new Parlee Z5i SL. I figure being in Seattle I'll have a 50/50 split in miles.

I've been riding metal since 1982 and am super excited to finally make the jump to Carbon.

Still coming to grips with the whole Serotta situation. All I can say is thanks Ben for making my Legend. Love this frame but it's time for something new. .

fogrider
08-16-2013, 01:29 AM
congrats on the purchase! how are you going to dress it up? and what kind of wheels?

victork
08-16-2013, 01:36 AM
Record (manual) and Shamals. Thanks. Super excited.

Germany_chris
08-16-2013, 03:45 AM
Is there another kind of Record ;)

soulspinner
08-16-2013, 04:38 AM
Record (manual) and Shamals. Thanks. Super excited.

Is paint now an upcharge on that model? They no longer show a painted z5 on their website.

brian34343434
08-16-2013, 06:48 AM
Congrats - just be aware that you can only run 23's or smaller on the Parlee Z5. I owned one for a short period of time, ended up selling it as I prefer to run a slightly wider tire. Frankly 23's are tight too, if you break a spoke out back your walking home - there is little if any tire clearence at the chain stays. Nice riding bike but not sure I agree with the design of the rear triangle.

WickedWheels
08-16-2013, 07:30 AM
Congrats - just be aware that you can only run 23's or smaller on the Parlee Z5. I owned one for a short period of time, ended up selling it as I prefer to run a slightly wider tire. Frankly 23's are tight too, if you break a spoke out back your walking home - there is little if any tire clearence at the chain stays. Nice riding bike but not sure I agree with the design of the rear triangle.

I have customers running 25's without a problem. 28's are very tight, though.

firerescuefin