PDA

View Full Version : Value of a Repaired Carbon Frame?

FGC
08-14-2013, 06:57 AM
I cracked the seat tube on my Cervelo S2. I'm thinking of getting it repaired by Brady Kappius and selling it. The warranty on his work is transferable. I hear his work is great. Is there much market for something like this? Should this thread be in the classifieds? It's all hypothetical so far.

What do you think the street value of the frameset would be after the repair? I would keep riding it, but it's my opportunity to get a matching team frame.

If anyone is interested in a 58cm Cervelo S2 based on this thread, send over a PM. I'll move it to the classifieds once I get it back from repair, which might be a little while.

MattTuck
08-14-2013, 07:02 AM
What were the circumstances that led to damage?

I am by no means an expert on carbon, but if I were a buyer, I'd be very leery of a carbon frame that had been repaired. Who knows what other possible damage there might be.

stien
08-14-2013, 07:20 AM
Just junk it. You won't end up getting what you put into it. It contact cervelo for a crash replacement?

druptight
08-14-2013, 07:21 AM
I just read this article the other day regarding carbon frame repair. Not sure if I stumbled upon it here, or elsewhere:

http://www.bicycling.com/maintenance/repair-maintenance/resurrection-calfees-carbon-frame-repair

Assuming the repair is done well, this article suggests repaired carbon frames are perfectly safe, and even go so far as to suggest they may be safer than repaired steel frames. True or not, I have a feeling your value will probably go down significantly after repair. Does the cost of repair & re-paint really leave you with much meat on the bone in a sale?

KonaSS
08-14-2013, 07:26 AM
The value of repaired carbon vs a comparable used frame that has never been cracked is obviously going to be less. How much? I would take a look at what S2s sell for on ebay, and expect at least a 25-50% deduction from that.