PDA

View Full Version : Cateye Stealth

Chris
08-08-2013, 02:18 PM
Anyone have any experience with either model. I am looking at the 10. I don't use heart rate or power. I mainly don't want to strap a sensor to my bike. I have been using the Garmin 500, but the tabs broke for the second time and I can almost get a Cateye for the $89 that Garmin wants to repair the unit.

Anarchist
08-08-2013, 03:10 PM
I have been using the 50 for a couple of months. I too have pretty much given up the Garmin ( 3rd Garmin 500)

The unit works very well, the display is very clear and very crisp.

The only two complaints I have with the unit are;
1) you must use the USB cradle to charge it
2) you must use the USB cradle and Cateye software to download

The cradle issue would not bother me if I could find spares for sale, the use of the cradle is what keeps it waterproof. The Cateye software is what you would expect from Cateye. All I do is immediately download the files to .gpx format then i can use them in whatever package I want.

It is a good little unit. Very sturdy. Very simple to use. And it is not Garmin, I'm over Garmin.

joosttx
08-08-2013, 03:50 PM
I have been using the 50 for a couple of months. I too have pretty much given up the Garmin ( 3rd Garmin 500)

The unit works very well, the display is very clear and very crisp.

The only two complaints I have with the unit are;
1) you must use the USB cradle to charge it
2) you must use the USB cradle and Cateye software to download

The cradle issue would not bother me if I could find spares for sale, the use of the cradle is what keeps it waterproof. The Cateye software is what you would expect from Cateye. All I do is immediately download the files to .gpx format then i can use them in whatever package I want.

It is a good little unit. Very sturdy. Very simple to use. And it is not Garmin, I'm over Garmin.