PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a new bike

Highpowernut
08-08-2013, 12:47 PM
So, I am new to this world of cycling.
Been riding for a year now. I purchased a road bike( cheap carbon frame) last year with all ultegra 6700.

Looked around and found my Tri bike, a Serotta HSG aero. Love it, can't say enough good things about it.

Wanted to upgrade my road bike frame ever since I got the serotta.

I was thinking I wanted to get a matching road frame, until this week.

Now I don't know. Any suggestions?

I currently ride about 70 miles a week. Almost all solo, avg speed 21 mph.

bicycletricycle
08-08-2013, 12:51 PM
you could always keep it in the serotta family.

Kirk, Ellis, Bedford

T.J.
08-08-2013, 12:53 PM
What is wrong with the frame you have now? What would you expect out of a new frame? No offense but 70 miles a week isn't very much so I'm curious as to what you are after

MattTuck
08-08-2013, 01:00 PM
A big part of me getting a custom was that I hadn't bought a bike for 10 years, I wanted something different, and I really appreciated the handmade/craftsmanship aspects of a custom frame.

There's really no financial way to rationalize a custom frame. It is an emotional purchase for my sporting passion.

Nothing wrong with wanting a new bike. Just figure out why you want it, and tailor your purchase to hit that need/desire.

Louis
08-08-2013, 01:02 PM
If you know what size works for you, then hang around here long enough and you're sure to find something that catches your eye.

One way to think about n+1 is frame material: what do you have now, vs what's different out there that you would like to try? Another is purpose: thinking of giving 'cross a try, then that would lead you in one direction. Want to do some overnight touring? That would lead in another.

Good Luck

MattTuck
08-08-2013, 01:10 PM
I prepared this handy grid a while ago, to help in the process. It deals only with material and type.