PDA

View Full Version : Wheels rubbing, am I expecting to much

Highpowernut
08-04-2013, 08:41 PM
I'm kind of new to cycling, my rear wheel has started to rub a lot as I'm pushing hard.

I not heavy (165lbs) so is this normal and I'm getting picky.

My training wheels are Zipp 101s so I expected them to be "bomb proof" and not flex that much.

Wayne

Tony T
08-04-2013, 08:46 PM
I get that with my HED's.
Check the caliper alignment. Don't have the pads too close to the rims.

oliver1850
08-04-2013, 08:46 PM
Really shouldn't rub at all.

Rubbing brake pads or frame? If they're a little out of true and the caliper isn't centered / is set too tight, standing might make them rub.

If rubbing frame, you definitely have something more serious going on.

Tony T
08-04-2013, 08:50 PM
Really shouldn't rub at all.

The wheels will flex under torque

pbarry
08-04-2013, 09:00 PM
Check for bearing play in the hubs.

bicycletricycle
08-04-2013, 09:04 PM
Those wheels are not bomb proof

mike p
08-04-2013, 09:05 PM
This.......open calipers a little or buy a stiffer set of wheels.

Mike

Pinky
08-04-2013, 09:06 PM
+1

lhuerta
08-04-2013, 09:52 PM
Where precisely are wheels rubbing...inside of seatstays/chainstays or on brake pads? One side or both sides? In addition to the suggestions above, you should also check your wheel dish....especially if you find wheel is rubbing more on one side then the other. Lastly, have a wheelbuilder check the tension on your spokes.Lou

Highpowernut
08-04-2013, 10:00 PM
It's only in the brakes, I guess I'll open them up.
Just didn't think they would move that much

Thanks

Black Dog
08-04-2013, 10:08 PM