PDA

View Full Version : Early-morning rides before work?

Louis
03-04-2004, 10:56 PM
If you do them how in the world do you get up for it? Do you ride on an empty stomach, or do you eat something first? I’ve never considered myself a morning person and it takes me a while to get going. However, with the weather improving and the time-change coming it would be great to get a ride in then drive to work after the traffic. (Cycling to work is not an option.)

I've never tried this and I’m wondering if I’ll ever be able to get my metabolism reved up quickly enough to do it. Your experiences?

Thanks
Louis

Marco
03-04-2004, 11:37 PM
Louis:

Given my family and work life I basically don't have a choice but to do early morning rides so I have been doing it for about 7 years. By early morning I mean starting the ride between 5 and 5:30 am. The first trick is to make it a habit and have your body get used to that daily rhythm. It will probably require that you go to bed earlier or find time for an afternoon nap.

Before the early morning rides I will usually have something along the lines of a Cliff Bar, Gu shot, or Power Gel shot. Also, I don't drink anything before I get on the bike but I make it a point to drink more than usual in the first half an hour to get hydrated. My experience has been that if you drink too much before you start you are just asking for the need to take a pit stop in the middle of the ride. When time is at a premium who wants to stop for that.

There are some SERIOUS advantages to riding this early in the morning, the best of which is that there is very little traffic and in the hot summer months it is obviously much cooler. Also, when you occasionlly see another rider out at that time there seems to be an unspoken bond of brotherhood (you mean I'm not the only crazy cyclops dude out for his morning fix this early in the morning?!).