PDA

View Full Version : Installing carbon bits

kgreene10
07-05-2013, 01:12 PM
Quick question about carbon bits. I have a new carbon post and a new carbon railed saddle. I was under the impression that I should use carbon assembly compound/paste but a salesperson waived me off and said that it isn't needed unless I experience slippage.

Is there a universally accepted correct way to do this?

mktng
07-05-2013, 01:17 PM
carbon post to carbon (frame). use paste/carbon compound

carbon post to alu frame.. should be fine with regular lube.

*im not a pro mech though.. this is just what i do.

Likes2ridefar
07-05-2013, 01:26 PM
Quick question about carbon bits. I have a new carbon post and a new carbon railed saddle. I was under the impression that I should use carbon assembly compound/paste but a salesperson waived me off and said that it isn't needed unless I experience slippage.

Personally I think it's better safe than sorry. One slip will put a nice scratch on your fancy carbon part.

cfox
07-05-2013, 01:39 PM
The only reason not to use it is the rare circumstance where you seatpost is a very tight fit into the frame. Other than that, there is no reason not to use it. I use it on the post, the saddle rails, front derailleur clamp, stem clamp and handle bar clamp. Grease everywhere else. I don't like dry-fit parts; invitation to creakville.

kgreene10
07-05-2013, 02:38 PM
Sensible consensus is that I should use it. Next question -- FSA and others sell an infinitesimal packet for about $7 and Park Tool has a "carbon and aluminum assembly compound" tube for about $10. Is the latter basically the same as the former?

avalonracing
07-05-2013, 02:47 PM