PDA

View Full Version : TT tips?

aramis
07-01-2013, 11:35 PM
There's a very low key TT around me (no cost, but it's timed with results) that's 5.5 miles each way, with a short climb before the turnaround point around here I like to do every once in a while to see if I'm improving.

Any tips?

I use a similar length/style route by my house to practice and have gotten my fastest results by going about as hard as I can for 20 minutes, backing off and recovering a little for 1-2 minutes and continuing at a higher close to max pace, rather than a constant pace the whole time which I thought is how you're supposed to do it.

Just using a regular road bike (no aerobars) and I have a powermeter.

Louis
07-01-2013, 11:42 PM
I'm no expert, and certainly not a racer, but I'm pretty sure that regardless of your conditioning, drag is your single biggest enemy. If you really want to improve your times aero bars would be my first choice, and deeper wheels my next choice. A jersey that's on the smallish side and doesn't flap won't hurt either, but that's not high on the list of big-hitters.

aramis
07-01-2013, 11:54 PM
I'm no expert, and certainly not a racer, but I'm pretty sure that regardless of your conditioning, drag is your single biggest enemy. If you really want to improve your times aero bars would be my first choice, and deeper wheels my next choice. A jersey that's on the smallish side and doesn't flap won't hurt either, but that's not high on the list of big-hitters.

I kind of right now am just trying to improve "my" performance, so I am nixing aerobars or special wheels or helmet or anything like that. I figure I can always add those later. Trying to keep the bike a constant.

I wear a tight jersey every time I ride and last time I was mostly in the drops with elbows pulled in anytime I wasn't climbing if it's worth anything.

oliver1850
07-02-2013, 01:30 AM