PDA

View Full Version : Can a steel bike simply be too light?

dd74
06-28-2013, 08:07 PM
I'm starting to wonder if a 15 or even a 16-pound steel bike might simply take away from the characteristics of a steel bike, particularly the smoothness of the ride. While my Serotta is steel (with carbon fork and seat stays) and a little bit below 16.5 pounds, it certainly rides closer to my carbon bike than my old Colnago, though better than both in a performance/ride way. But there are days when I wonder if it's lost some of its inherent character only for the sake of trying to be in a similar weight class with carbon.

Does anyone feel the same?

Louis
06-28-2013, 08:22 PM
I'm not a frame designer or builder, but IMO you need the appropriate amount of stiffness and strength in the right places. Damping also plays a role, but it's probably secondary.

If you use a really stiff and strong material (using those terms generically) then you can get away with using less of it. The actual weight or density of that material is not that critical. So, if it's stiff enough and strong enough, no, the frame can't be too light. But, if in order to make it light you remove so much material that you compromise stiffness and strength, then yes, it can be too light.

Edit: All this ignores tube cross-sectional geometry, which also plays a role.

pbarry
06-28-2013, 08:23 PM
I think so, if component decisions are based soley about weight. There are much lighter bikes than my 1998 Mondonico Diamond with Veloce parts and Ambosio Excellence rims, (22lbs.), in my stable, but it's my go-to ride 75% of the time. I never think about the bike, or listen for weird noises or clicking on that bike. It just works and does what I want it to do--go fast in the right direction. Caveat: no power meter or gps or basic computer on that rig, but I've had some PB's on measured courses riding it, (using a stop watch).

wallymann
06-28-2013, 08:26 PM