PDA

View Full Version : AL vs C : seeking knowledge on next HT

azrider
06-22-2013, 09:03 PM
I've been riding an Aluminum HT for past two years and need to purchase a new bike because of sizing issue(s). I have the option of getting Carbon or Aluminum and want to hear opinions on longevity/durability.......I've done 8+ HR XC races and am fine with comfort factor so this is a question strictly centered around the topic of durability and which material would be better in long run

ofcounsel
06-22-2013, 09:22 PM
I have both. In terms of long term durability... Even though today's carbon frames are pretty tough, Aluminum hardtails can take a bit extra beating around the bottom bracket.

azrider
06-22-2013, 09:26 PM
I have both. In terms of long term durability... Even though today's carbon frames are pretty tough, Aluminum hardtails can take a bit extra beating around the bottom bracket.

Yeah this is my thought process also....

Plus i'm pretty hard on equipment, and i'm still learning to "pick my lines" better and have had occasion where a hard bang to the downtube isn't all that uncommon....that said i'm thinking it'd be in my best interest to stick with AL

oldpotatoe
06-23-2013, 07:40 AM
I've been riding an Aluminum HT for past two years and need to purchase a new bike because of sizing issue(s). I have the option of getting Carbon or Aluminum and want to hear opinions on longevity/durability.......I've done 8+ HR XC races and am fine with comfort factor so this is a question strictly centered around the topic of durability and which material would be better in long run

If ya crash and throw a carbon frame onto a rock, that tube 'may' crack-repair or throw away. If ya throw an aluminum frame on same rock, tube will probably dent but will still be rideable. PLUS AL probably much cheaper.

macaroon
06-24-2013, 06:13 AM
I'd say carbon is the more durable of the two. If you're worried about rock strikes around the bb area, put some protection on the frame.