PDA

View Full Version : has anyone taken the new Merlin website for a ride?

eddief
12-08-2005, 08:07 PM
I have a masters degree in something and for the life of me I find the new website and marketing approach sorta silly and difficult to figue out. Why two separate lines of bikes? What's the difference?

http://www.merlinbike.com/

Tom Kellogg
12-08-2005, 09:45 PM
You may want to read about the two lines to see the differences. Just a thought. All sarcasm aside, I have to say that even though almost all Merlins are titanium, they have taken a more no nonsense approach with the works frames. No attempt to make them pretty, just make them go. The other thing, and this is purely marketing, is the face they put on the two lines. The classic line (the frames that have been around for a while) is marketed as more of a "lifestyle" line while the Works bikes are marketed as competition bikes. You can see it in the photos and the copy editing. As it turns out, you can see it in the actual bikes as well, but without actually seeing them in person, it isn't too obvious. Like I said, they are all titanium anyway.

Lifelover
12-08-2005, 10:41 PM
I have a masters degree in something and for the life of me I find the new website and marketing approach sorta silly and difficult to figue out. Why two separate lines of bikes? What's the difference?

http://www.merlinbike.com/

No masters degree but I must agree with you. Than again I'm a lazy surfer. I don't want to have to dig to understand.

ClutchCargo
12-09-2005, 03:02 PM
You may want to read about the two lines to see the differences. Just a thought. All sarcasm aside, . . .

Well, isn't Merlin owned by Litespeed now anyway? I wonder about that strategy. They may have been going after market share, but part of Merlin's appeal has always been that of a boutique maker and I wonder whether demand for Merlin bikes will survive ownership by Litespeed.

(is Seven next?)

Ray
12-09-2005, 03:38 PM