PDA

View Full Version : Any advice for my first 300k?

moose8
05-29-2013, 07:58 PM
I'm attempting my first 300k this Saturday - previous record for distance for me is 135 miles, and this will be 189, plus way hillier. I've been doing the 200k brevets for a few years now with the last one being around three weeks ago I think. Anyway, I plan on applying the same tactics I've used on the 200k, but the last one had around 9000 feet of climbing and this one has around 12000 feet by my math, which will be the most I've climbed I think.

Is there anything different I should do for a 300k than a 200k other than have lights? I've already put my sister on alert that she may need to drive to pick me up if I end up having to DNF.

roydyates
05-29-2013, 08:02 PM
Ride the first 100k really easy. Don't break a sweat. Then ride your usual 200k.

echelon_john
05-29-2013, 08:03 PM
don't take the bait in the first 50 miles. get rolling at your own pace, and eat and drink all the time.

inevitably, no matter how low-key the brevet, a 'lead group' forms. if you're concerned about the distance, don't get bummed out when you let them ride up the road. focus on your average speed and on keeping your efforts--esp. on hills, if that's your concern--under control. better to crawl up a few hills than to blow with 100+ miles to go.

if you treat the first 50 miles as a warm up and go into the next phase well fed & watered, you'll be fine assuming you've been doing 200k without major issues.

echelon_john
05-29-2013, 08:03 PM
roy gets it!

witcombusa
05-29-2013, 08:08 PM
Eddy said it best....

"Ride Lots"

Have you?

93legendti
05-29-2013, 08:17 PM
When I did my first 300k, I had some bad stomach upset. I wish I had had some tums- I would have been a lot more comfortable the last 2 hours.

joosttx
05-29-2013, 08:29 PM