PDA

View Full Version : Dented Rims - What are they good for?

roydyates
05-28-2013, 12:52 PM
My collection of slightly aluminum dented rims is now up to two. In each case, I replaced a rim because the sidewall had just enough of a dent that you could hear the cyclical thwacking when braking.

However, I find I can't quite throw away these old rims. They look good, at least from a distance.

Is there some useful purpose they might serve?

lhuerta
05-28-2013, 12:53 PM
No offense, but if you have a collection of dented rims, it begs the question, what exactly are you doing to dent rims? Just curious...Lou

mktng
05-28-2013, 12:55 PM
coat hangers.

azrider
05-28-2013, 12:56 PM
dedicated trainer wheel with trainer tire.

MattTuck
05-28-2013, 12:57 PM
Well, I'm no engineer, but it seems like a dent could be cosmetic or structural. If you can't determine which it is, I'd assume that the dents are structural.

They could make cool wall art. or maybe for indoor trainer use. Mostly things that wouldn't result in loss of life or limb if they failed.

fiamme red
05-28-2013, 01:02 PM
What would Marcel Duchamp do?

http://www.moma.org/collection_images/resized/009/w500h420/CRI_63009.jpg

binxnyrwarrsoul
05-28-2013, 01:04 PM
Make them into hangers.

christian
05-28-2013, 01:04 PM
1) Trainer wheel. Hit me up if they're Campagnolo.
2) Tubular-stretching rim.
3) Run behind them and hit them with a stick to roll them down the street.

regularguy412
05-28-2013, 01:09 PM
1) Trainer wheel. Hit me up if they're Campagnolo.
2) Tubular-stretching rim.
3) Run behind them and hit them with a stick to roll them down the street.

Best use I've found for mine. They don't even need to be perfectly straight, either.

Mike in AR:beer:

rugbysecondrow
05-28-2013, 01:17 PM
get a few more rims, then create a backyard game, elaborate scoring system only a guy would love.

Two stakes (like horseshoes), toss rim onto stake, drink beer. Rinse and repeat.

William
05-28-2013, 01:22 PM