PDA

View Full Version : I need help with my Phil Wood hub

jberenyi
05-24-2013, 07:43 AM
I just bought a used Burley Duet tandem and in the deal the guy gave me another rear wheel with a Phil Wood hub. I went to put the wheel on last night and noticed it had Allen bolts with shouldered spacers and no quick release. The axle is hollow but the thru hole is larger than the skewer wheel it was replacing. What can this total noob do to get back a quick release capability?:confused:

oldpotatoe
05-24-2013, 07:46 AM
I just bought a used Burley Duet tandem and in the deal the guy gave me another rear wheel with a Phil Wood hub. I went to put the wheel on last night and noticed it had Allen bolts with shouldered spacers and no quick release. The axle is hollow but the thru hole is larger than the skewer wheel it was replacing. What can this total noob do to get back a quick release capability?:confused:

Call Phil, have them send you QR axle ends of the correct length. They just unscrew from the hub. Hole one, 6mm allen, unscrew-hold other end, unscrew. Use an axle vice so you don't goober up the threads.

bicycletricycle
05-24-2013, 08:03 AM
Just use the bolts, the new axle ends are going to b like $100 dollars

05-24-2013, 10:52 AM
The point of bolts on the ends of a rear tandem wheel is that it's too easy to pull a wheel with a quick release. All you need with the bolts is an allen key, and it only takes seconds. It's a more solid approach. I would switch any tandem rear wheels to bolt attachment anyway.

ColonelJLloyd
05-24-2013, 11:06 AM
I agree with the suggestion to not convert the hub. It's a good system, leave it be.

jberenyi
05-24-2013, 11:07 AM