PDA

View Full Version : Commuting on Tubies

Nooch
05-06-2013, 10:39 AM
So I figured I'd throw my sdv66 tubie's on my caad9 for the ride to work today, since I'm not really planning on racing too much this year, it's a shame to have them sitting in the closet.

Veloflex Carbon's are glued up on them right now. So I ask, on a bike that's being locked outside, with the latex tubes etc, over the course of a 9 hour work day, how much air am I likely to lose? Is it enough to raise any concern for the ride home?

(disclaimer: these are my first tubular wheels/tires, and only my second time riding them since acquiring them for TheGunner back in the winter... so yes, I am a tubie newbie...)

EDS
05-06-2013, 11:09 AM
So I figured I'd throw my sdv66 tubie's on my caad9 for the ride to work today, since I'm not really planning on racing too much this year, it's a shame to have them sitting in the closet.

Veloflex Carbon's are glued up on them right now. So I ask, on a bike that's being locked outside, with the latex tubes etc, over the course of a 9 hour work day, how much air am I likely to lose? Is it enough to raise any concern for the ride home?

(disclaimer: these are my first tubular wheels/tires, and only my second time riding them since acquiring them for TheGunner back in the winter... so yes, I am a tubie newbie...)

I for sure would not leave a bike like that with those wheels on locked outside.

thwart
05-06-2013, 11:10 AM
Impressive. Commuting on Veloflex Carbons.

Note that impressive does not equate with wise...

Nooch
05-06-2013, 11:15 AM
Impressive. Commuting on Veloflex Carbons.

Note that I impressive does not equate with wise...

Just an every once in a while thing..

My commute takes me on the same roads I train on, so it's not like I'm headed into some terrible-road-urban environment..

As it is, the bike is double locked and I have homeowners insurance. Life is too short to ride crap and drink crappy wine..