PDA

View Full Version : 9 or 10 speed?

chengher87
05-04-2013, 10:13 AM
I'm currently making plans to purchase a 2nd bike and was wondering whether it was worth it to finally upgrade to 10-speed (yes I know, I am a few generations behind, but as a poor grad student I haven't the finances to upgrade only the group-set when I could get a good used bike). 9 speed stuff is cheap, but I was wondering if anyone knows the quality of the current 9 speed stuff. I'm under the assumption that Shimano, SRAM, Campy and even microshift pour more time and effort to the 10, 11 speed stuff, but the trickle down technology should make these new 9 speed group-sets just as good as the previous generation right?

I have a 6500 Ultegra groupset and I have a hard time believing that the current Sora (3500) and even the 4500 Tiagra generation is just as good. I had the 3400 Sora and switched it out because the derailleurs needed constant adjusting and I never could develop confidence with then (although I had no issues with the shifters, I hardly ride in the drops anyway). My 6500 groupset is getting up there in age (although still chugging along) and I'd like to replace it, either with a new 9 or 10 speed group.

Granted, with everyone moving to 11 speeds, the 10 speed stuff should be cheaper going forward anyway right? Or maybe I just like being a relic in a peloton of shiny new toys.

rice rocket
05-04-2013, 10:23 AM
I was tooling around in the LBS and felt the Tiagra 4600 stuff, it's pretty decent. It's gone to 10 speed, and it has the better feel of the 5700/6700/7900, but without the internal shift cable routing.

The biggest advance that Shimano made in their 10 speed groups is not the extra gear, but the shifter ratcheting mechanism and the braking stiffness. 4500/6500/7700 is vague and mushy in comparison.

I'd still get 5700 if you can swing it, but I was reasonably impressed by the 4600 equipped bike.

chengher87
05-04-2013, 10:31 AM