PDA

View Full Version : And another stupid question.

akelman
04-15-2013, 09:28 PM
I'm afraid I have no experience with SRAM components, and I'm trying to remove a set of Red cranks. To extract these, should I be turning the binder bolt clockwise or counter-clockwise? Thanks in advance. And I apologize for the barrage of dumb questions.

vav
04-15-2013, 09:38 PM
counter ;)

vqdriver
04-15-2013, 09:42 PM
self extracting
lefty loosey

akelman
04-15-2013, 09:43 PM
Groovy. Thanks, gents.

akelman
04-15-2013, 10:07 PM
Aaaaaaaaaaand, I give up. I guess this is why The Market invented bike shops.

vqdriver
04-15-2013, 10:24 PM
Make sure you're working on the correct bolt. One will remove the self extracting mechanism and the other is for installing uninstalling the arm. I think the one you want is 8mm? It gets crazy tight tho. I think I had to whack my hex handle with a rubber mallet

akelman
04-15-2013, 10:31 PM
Make sure you're working on the correct bolt. One will remove the self extracting mechanism and the other is for installing uninstalling the arm. I think the one you want is 8mm? It gets crazy tight tho. I think I had to whack my hex handle with a rubber mallet

Huh, now you've undermined my (already shaky) confidence. That said, I've been working with an 8 mm wrench, so I'm pretty sure I'm on the right track. But as you say, it's insanely tight.

vqdriver
04-15-2013, 11:09 PM
I gotta say. From a usability standpoint I really dislike this method of mounting and tightening cranks a la sram and campagnolo because u have to hold one crankarm while working the tool. I much prefer the side bolts of the hollowtech ii system.

Peter B
04-15-2013, 11:22 PM
Huh, now you've undermined my (already shaky) confidence. That said, I've been working with an 8 mm wrench, so I'm pretty sure I'm on the right track. But as you say, it's insanely tight.

Ari,