PDA

View Full Version : Another Tektro Mini-V Question Thread...

AndreasM
03-25-2013, 12:29 PM
I have NOS Shimano 105 SLR Aero brake levers on my cross/commuter and am looking at the Tektro 926AL or RX5. Can anyone speak to the appropriate amount of pull with older levers? RX5's have a longer arm, which seems attractive from a fender perspective, but I'm reading mixed reviews on bottoming out. Am not interested in the travel agent option.

All thoughts appreciated as always.

A

rice rocket
03-25-2013, 12:37 PM
My Planet Bike Cascadia road fenders (35mm wide) "clear" w/ the 926ALs. They actually contact the fender when I squeeze the lever, but not enough to bother me. Not sure what fenders you're going with though.

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-ZMfS3Y6K8yo/URlu_Zm16UI/AAAAAAAAEEE/8Wfdl-WHzy8/s699/IMG_20130211_171422.jpg

I have no experience w/ those levers.

christian
03-25-2013, 12:39 PM
I wouldn't run anything longer than 85mm arms with those levers. They're a traditional lever that, if anything, pulls less cable than modern levers (though I think they're the same through at least Ultegra 6600). 80mm arms, like 926 AL, would probably work well. RX5s at 85mm should be ok too. RX6s I would not suggest.

AndreasM
03-25-2013, 12:51 PM
Thanks! - seems the 926AL's will be the best bet regardless of what fender/tire option I go. Like others drawn down this road, pulling my hair out fiddling with my current canti's cannot continue.

I have 35mm Kenda small block 8's, on FYI - and no fender option yet, just thinking ahead

Oregonic
03-25-2013, 07:57 PM
I wouldn't run anything longer than 85mm arms with those levers. They're a traditional lever that, if anything, pulls less cable than modern levers (though I think they're the same through at least Ultegra 6600). 80mm arms, like 926 AL, would probably work well. RX5s at 85mm should be ok too. RX6s I would not suggest.