PDA

View Full Version : OT: Any straight razor aficionados??

OtayBW
03-02-2013, 04:42 PM
Kind of obscure, I know, but - well, anyone? :banana:

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j42/zelmo_2006/4925335d-7935-412c-936d-a531c37dcfc9.jpg

azrider
03-02-2013, 04:47 PM
Interesting.

Dude on my team at work was boasting about an ivory handled straight razor he picked up for $250 last week and he's got me contemplating buying one also.

Said it took couple days to get used to it but so far he's super happy with it.

binxnyrwarrsoul
03-02-2013, 04:51 PM
Smoothest shave, ever!!

Louis
03-02-2013, 04:51 PM
There's been some discussion of this across the hall. (http://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f32/anyone-shave-straight-razor-26530.html)

OtayBW
03-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Thanks for that link, Louis. I will have to (sign up and) check it out!

I've been shaving exclusively with straights for more than a couple of years now. I hone 'em up using a couple of different techniques and do light restoration. I guess if I say nothing else, I should say that it is - to me - a superior shave, but please do not go out and try to find a barber to get a straight shave. It's essentially a lost art and it is the rare occasion that I have ever heard of anyone going out to try a barber shave coming away with a good experience. For one thing, Health regulations prohibit use of normal straights. They have to use these 'shavette' things which are essentially single edge blades inserted into a holder shaped like a straight. But you can learn it, it's a great shave, and it's definitely not boring!

OK - I'm done...

Cheers.

EPOJoe
03-02-2013, 07:40 PM