PDA

View Full Version : Way OT: Duck Dynasty

Dave B
02-28-2013, 11:07 AM
Being a teacher I am often times bombarded with stupid and I have grown to believe that some of the shows on TV that kids are watching or that even make it passed some sort of content guru even exhist. My students last year and this year bring up this monstrosity called Honey Boo Boo. Some family in only God knows where who make $15K an episode for exhisting. Their contribution to the world is less then nothing.

My wife and 7 yeard old made me watch an episode and I literally felt myself getting dumber as time ticked by. I was angry after it was over.

So my students were telling me about Duck Dynasty and describing whatI thought was another version of the Honey Boo Boo trash.

So on a promise to one of my students who I adore I watched an episode.

one word for you...Fantastic.

I thought it was funny, silly, and somethign struck me about the people that I couldn't quite figure out. The more I have learned about the actual family (the Robertsons) the more the show and their ideas or shoudl I say ideals ring true in my own life.

All but one (Si) are college educated, and a few as the masters level. The partriarch has a masters i education, played football (started over Terry Bradshaw in college) and walked away from a chance to play in the NFL as his heart belonged in nature and providing for his wife and children. He turned a business making duck calls into a multi million dollar business.

The emphasis on family above all and their love of each other is reassuring, their faith in God is tremendously sincere (regardless of your beliefs) and their lack of apologies and political correctness for who they are and what they stand for remind me of how I wish our soceity could evolve to.